NAMC montessori philosophy three stages of normalization first plane of development girl with dressing frame
Normalization is the foundation upon which "spontaneous discipline, continuous and happy work, social sentiments of help and sympathy for others.…" (The Absorbent Mind) arise. It is a time where children learn to focus and concentrate their energies for long periods of time, while taking personal satisfaction in their work. Normalization occurs during the first plane of development (ages 0-6). The child who is normalized displays:
  • love of order
  • love of work
  • spontaneous concentration
  • attachment to reality
  • love of silence and of working alone
  • sublimation of the possessive instinct
  • power to act from real choice
  • obedience, independence and initiative
  • spontaneous self-discipline
  • joy

There are three stages of normalization and the typical Montessori classroom contains children from all three stages.

Sunday, April 27, 2008 Continue Reading this Article
Montessori Classroom Practical Life Activities: The Montessori Dressing Frame

Last weekend, while shopping at a large chain bookstore, I came across several books on the bargai...

Thursday, April 17, 2008 Continue Reading this Article

NAMC Blog Inquiries Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Search the NAMC Teacher Training Blog

Are you interested in reading back through NAMC's blog articles from years gone by? Are you looking for more information on a specific topic?

Use the menu below to select the year and then the month to narrow down the time frame the articles you are interested in were posted.

If you are seeking a range of information on a certain topic, try our search box for sitewide keyword results. If you require further information, or have comments or concerns, feel free to contact us.


Montessori Teacher Training Blog Archive